Social Studies/History

gettysburgsocial studies 2Social studies 4
Program of Studies

Welcome to the Social Studies/History Department at Mt. Ararat High School. We are passionate about teaching students about the world they live in, the events that shaped the world, and the society of which they are a part. In all courses we are dedicated to helping students acquire critical thinking skills by examining different perspectives and beliefs, and to develop their reading, writing and speaking skills. Through looking at the forces that have shaped our society today, we hope to provide students with some of the knowledge and tools they will need to be productive and effective 21st century citizens.


All students are required to take the three year sequence of Social Studies/History classes. Students in grade 9 take classes in World Religions and World Governments, students in grade 10 take Comparative Economics and American Foreign Policy, and students in grade 11 take U.S. History. A dual enrollment course with SMCC in U.S. History is offered for students wishing to receive both high school and college credits. Students in grades 11 and 12 can also choose to take Art and Society, which is co-taught by a history teacher and an art teacher. In addition, students in grades 11 and 12 can choose from electives including Psychology, Sociology, and The News and You. Advanced Placement courses currently offered include AP European History (grade 10), AP U.S. History (grade11), and AP U.S. Government and Politics (grade 12). Please see the Program of Studies for specific information on each of these courses.


Contact Mr. Janeway at janeways@link75.org if you have any questions regarding our curriculum.

News & Events
                                                            

Faculty & Links to Teacher Websites


Sewall Janeway, Department Head, janeways@link75.org Bree Candland candlandb@link75.org Lou Dorogi dorogil@link75.org
Dennis Edmondson edmondsond@link75.org Jessica Graham        grahamj@link75.org
Terry Martin martint@link75.org Luke Potter potterl@link75.org Gillian Watt wattg@link75.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.