Social Studies/History

gettysburgsocial studies 2Social studies 4
Program of Studies

Welcome to the Social Studies/History Department at Mt. Ararat High School. We are passionate about teaching students about the world they live in, the events that shaped the world, and the society of which they are a part. In all courses we are dedicated to helping students acquire critical thinking skills by examining different perspectives and beliefs, and to develop their reading, writing and speaking skills. Through looking at the forces that have shaped our society today, we hope to provide students with some of the knowledge and tools they will need to be productive and effective 21st century citizens.

All students are required to take the three year sequence of Social Studies/History classes. Students in grade 9 take classes in World Religions and World Governments, students in grade 10 take Comparative Economics and American Foreign Policy, and students in grade 11 take U.S. History. In addition, students in grades 11 and 12 can choose from a wide variety of electives including Psychology, Sociology, Current Events, Mythology, and The Civil War. Other electives are offered on a rotating schedule. A dual enrollment course with SMCC in U.S. History is offered for students wishing to receive both high school and college credits. Students in grades 11 and 12 can also choose to take Art and Society, which is co-taught by a history teacher and an art teacher. Advanced Placement courses currently offered include AP European History (grade 10), AP U.S. History (grade11), and AP U.S. Government and Politics (grade 12). Please see the Program of Studies for specific information on each of these courses.

Contact Mr. Janeway at if you have any questions regarding our curriculum.

News & Events                                                             
Please join me in congratulating John Dever, in his selection as Sagadahoc County Teacher of the Year. John teaches US History and AP European History at Mt. Ararat High School. He is highly regarded by his colleagues, respected by students. He is a valued leader, having served as Department Chair and has been a reader for the Collegeboard AP Modern European History Exam.

The next step will his consideration as Maine Teacher of the Year! Regardless of that outcome, we are very proud of "one of our own" who represents the best in education. Congratulations John...and know that we appreciate the honor you bring to yourself, our district, and our profession.

Teachers from each of Maine’s 16 counties were today honored in Augusta’s State Capitol at an annual event in the Hall of Flags announcing the 2017 Maine County Teachers of the Year. The group is the county finalists for Maine Teacher of the Year, an honor awarded each year to one teacher in Maine.

The educators were each nominated by a member of their community for their exemplary service in education, and dedication to their students. They were selected by a distinguished panel of teachers, principals and business community members from a pool of hundreds of other nominated teachers in their communities.

2017 County Teachers of the Year:

Androscoggin: Nesrene Griffin, Governor James Longley School
Aroostook: Leslie Marquis, Fort Kent Community School
Cumberland: Brooke Teller, Casco Bay High School
Franklin: Allison Warman, Rangeley Lakes School
Hancock: Marielle Edgecomb, The Peninsula School
Kennebec: Lisette Bordes, Messalonskee High School
Knox: Iris Eichenlaub, Camden Hills Regional High School
Lincoln: Christopher Coleman, Great Salt Bay Community School
Oxford: Janet Harriman, Sacopee Valley High School
Penobscot: Kasie Giallombardo, Nokomis High School
Piscataquis: Kaitlin Young, SeDoMoCha Elementary School
Sagadahoc: John Dever, Mt. Ararat High School
Somerset: Eric Brown, Lawrence High School
Waldo: Christi Goosman, Searsport District High School
Washington: Rhonda Stevens, Beatrice Rafferty School
York: Jen England, Noble High School
Ambassadors for teachers, students, and quality education in Maine, these teachers will continue to participate in the intensive State Teacher of the Year selection process, including the submission of a video showcasing their classroom instructional practices.

The field will be narrowed to eight semi-finalists who will begin working on their professional portfolio, a component of the National Teacher of the Year process. After the portfolio review and presentations to a select panel, the field is narrowed to three finalists. In October, the 2018 Maine Teacher of the Year will be selected after a school site visit and final interview.

The Maine Teacher of the Year is a program of the Maine Department of Education, administered by Educate Maine, a business-led organization working to ensure Maine’s students and workers are the best educated and highly skilled in the world.

For more information, visit

Faculty & Links to Teacher Websites
Sewall Janeway, Department Head John Dever Lou Dorogi
Bree Candland
Dennis Edmondson
Terry Martin Chris Nulle Gillian Watt

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.